The Kapotasana experience

Something more difficult than doing yoga is finding the time and scheduling it into your daily life along with life. It easy when I’m alone and my parents are gone a week in CO like the previous week. Then when they got home we went shopping, to fright fest at six flags, and to San Angelo for the weekend. We are constantly going.( I’m not complaining) It’s very interesting to see the dynamic of family life vs if I were alone. Mr Iyengar was a trooper. How he became a Yoga master and raised family is admirable. It would be so much easier to live in a cave away from the world and do yoga. To be able to balance life, as well as you balance on your head is a true accomplishment.

This week I learned to never underestimate the power of practice. On Monday I was dropping back to the wall, I felt like it was impossible to get to my feet. (Which just motivated me more) I took about an hour to an hour and a half each day practicing different ways to be more pliable. It was a process but by Saturday I was dropping back and touching my toes. In a couple of more days I know I could grab closer to the ankles but I’ll get to that later…

Overall the Kapotasana experience was very motivating and encouraging. It made me realize a lot of capabilities, along with a lot of areas I need to improve.

This week I’ll be working toward galavasana this pose is hard. It’s hard to balance, hard to hold your self up and my right hip doesn’t enjoy it at all. I can’t get the back leg anywhere closer to straight and I can’t lift the leg up. Needless to say I’ll be doing a lot of padmasana and hip work this week to help me with this pose.

About a month ago Anne taught a workshop in San Angelo that was mostly hip work. The sequence was passive and a lot of playing in the floor, it was the first time I got my knees to the floor in matsyasana. I’ll be working with that sequence to help break open my hips then I’ll practice part of Randy’s sequence toward galavasana. My padmasana is terribly tight and I can’t do it without my hands. Last week Randy told me it was really tight and I need to work on it…. there’s no time like the present. With this collab sequence I’m really hoping for some progress.

With love and light,

Namaste,

Sky☀️☁️

P.s. Ashlie if your reading this, my whole body has whiplash from fright fest ….. no more Mr. Freeze 🙅‍♀️

Leave a comment